Archive | The Hurst Selection

The Hurst Selection (#THS) – 17th May 2020

Celebrating 11 years of SoulandJazz.comBrian Hurst returns with The Hurst Selection – packed tight with 27 drops of the good stuff. Watch out for #ExcellentBehaviour from Tower of Power, Julia Harriman, Roy Ayers, Jeff Lorber Fusion, C R O W N, Dionne Warwick, and The Real Thing along with 20 other magnificent performances. Move the furniture, roll back the carpet, make some space – you’re going to need it.

Please feel free to get in touch with Brian with any comments or suggestions you might have; he’ll be more than happy to hear from you: or follow him via Instagram, Facebook or Twitter.


Not a subscriber to Then please support by sharing a Tweet.


The Hurst Selection
17th May 2020

Artist – Track – Album – Year

Reid    Good Times    12″ Single    1989
The Real Thing    The Story Of My Life    Saints Or Sinners    1979
Paradise    One Mind, Two Hearts    12″ Single    1983

Tower of Power    Adddicted to You    Step Up    2020
SoulPersona    Peacemaker    Extended Pleasure    2020
Cleo Sol    Why Don’t You    Rose in the Dark    2020
Julia Harriman    Dupin’s Blue    The Eddy (OST)    2020
Roy Ayers with Adrian Younge and Ali Shaheed Muhammad    Gravity
   Jazz Is Dead 002 (Promo – June 19)    2020
Lindsey Webster    Perspective    A Woman Like Me    2020
Braxton Cook    Shooting Star    Fire Sign    2020
Jeff Bradshaw    Butterfly (feat. Christian McBride)    Stronger (Promo – June)    2020

Ray & James    Nature Boy    Rainer Trueby Presents Soulgliding (Original 7″ Single 1982)    2020
Dionne Warwick    Take the Short Way Home    The Arista Recordings (1979 -1994)
(Original LP ‘Heartbreaker’ 1982)    2020
Sister Sledge    Reach Your Peak
   Thinking Of You – The Atco / Cotillion / Atlantic Recordings (1973-1985)
(Original LP ‘Love Somebody Today’ 1980)    2020
Donald Byrd    Lansana’s Priestess
   Donald Byrd And The Blackbyrds – The Jazz Funk Collection
Original LP ‘Street Lady’ (1973)    2020

Malcom Strachan    Mitchell’s Landing    About Time    2020
Joey Alexander    Downtime    Warna    2020

Incognito    Shine    Tomorrow’s New Dream    2019
Kraak & Smaak    Sommeron (feat. Imugi)    Pleasure Centre    2019
C R O W N    Fooling Everyone    Unlearning    2019

Jeff Lorber Fusion    Lava Lands    Wizard Island    1980
Doug Richardson    Salsa Mama    Night Talk    1977
Hampton Hawes    Web    Northern Windows    1974

Michael Olatuja    Brighter Day (feat. Laura Mvula)    Lagos Pepper Soup    2020
Thundercat    Overseas (feat. Zack Fox)    It Is What It Is    2020
José James    Baby Don’t Cry (feat. J. Hoard)    No Beginning No End 2    2020

Chip Wickham    Interstellar    Blue to Red    2020

Go to page: